Awards and competitions

Enter the Creative Future Writers’ Awards 2021 competition - deadline 6 June 2021

The Creative Future Writers’ Awards is the UK’s only national competition for all underrepresented writers and features over £10,000 in cash and writer development prizes.

The award is open to all writers whose stories are underrepresented in mainstream publishing including those with mental health issues, physical/learning disabilities, neurodiversity, Black writers, LGBTQIA+ writers, as well as writers from working class backgrounds.

Koestler Awards 2021 open for entries

The 2021 Koestler Awards for art in criminal justice settings is open for entries.

The Awards launched in 1962. Each year more than 3,500 people in custody and in the community share their creative work. Over 52 categories, the Koestler Awards provide feedback and encouragement to entrants of all abilities in visual art, design, writing and music.

The 2021 UK exhibition will return in the autumn to the Southbank Centre, curated by artist Camille Walala from the awards entries.

RSPH launches Health & Wellbeing Awards 2021

The Royal Society for Public Health (RSPH) has opened the nomination process for its annual Health & Wellbeing Awards. The awards include a category for Arts & Health, to recognise organisations whose work has furthered the contribution of the creative arts to health and wellbeing.

Enter the Arts Against Covid Awards

The Arts in Health International Foundation has launched the Arts Against Covid Awards to recognise initiatives that demonstrate the positive effects of the arts on the health of those impacted by Covid-19. The €5,000 prize is available for executed, ongoing or planned arts and cultural activities conceived to improve health and wellbeing. Special consideration will be given to projects that contain information on the execution, dissemination and wider impact of the results as well as projects that include the participation/involvement of professionals, bodies or health centres.

Shortlist announced for Hearts for the Arts Awards 2021

The National Campaign for the Arts' have revealed the shortlisted entries for the Hearts For The Arts Awards 2021. The awards celebrate the unsung heroes of local authorities champion the arts against all odds. Categories include Best Arts Project, Best Arts Champion – Local Authority or Cultural Trust Worker and Best Arts Champion – Councillor. This year's awards have seen the NCA receive a record-breaking number of nominations, as local communities turned to the arts for solace, strength and connectivity during the pandemic. The winners will be announced on 14 February 2021.

Enter the Social Prescribing Network Awards 2021

The Social Prescribing Network awards are returning for a second year, hosted by the Social Prescribing Network and the College of Medicine. The 10 awards recognise the wealth of innovative social prescribing projects and schemes running throughout the UK and internationally and are open to everyone involved in social prescribing.

The deadline for the awards is 25 January and they will be presented at the 3rd International Social Prescribing Network conference in March.

Find out more.

Jerwood Art Fund Makers Open 2021 – deadline 26 August 2020

This major award offers five early-career UK-based artists and makers the opportunity to develop and present ambitious new works on a supported, high-profile national platform. It seeks to raise the profile and visibility of making processes within the visual arts and create a space for critical dialogue between the craft and visual arts sectors.

Further information and application details can be found here.  

Call for entries for Jerwood/FVU Awards 2022 – deadline 20 July 2020

The Jerwood/FVU Awards 2022 present an opportunity for UK-based moving-image artists in the first five years of developing their professional practice. Jerwood Arts and Film and Video Umbrella invite early-career artists to make proposals for ambitious new works in any form of the moving-image.

Art Therapy New Practitioner & Early Career Researcher Prizes 2020-2022 – deadline 31 January 2021

The International Journal of Art Therapy: Inscape (IJAT) has announced the addition of an Early Career Researcher Prize to run alongside the New Practitioner Prize. These biennial Prizes are awarded by the British Association of Art Therapists (BAAT) and Routledge Publishers. The aim of the competitions is to celebrate valuable and innovative work produced by trainees, newly qualified practitioners and early career researchers and to encourage future authors of original art therapy literature.

Grain open call for bursary applications – deadline 15 June 2020

As part of its online programme, Grain is offering a number of bursaries aimed at exploring, responding to and documenting current events. The bursaries will support photographers and writers to make new work in isolation (at a social distance), reflecting on these times and contributing to creativity and wellbeing.  Outcomes will be shared with audiences via Grain’s digital platforms.

Further information about the bursaries can be found here.


Subscribe to RSS - Awards and competitions