RSPH photographic art award – deadline 6 August 2017

The RSPH "flash points" competition is seeking submissions that highlight health and wellbeing in the UK across the life course. Submissions should be "thought-provoking snapshots of lives from as diverse a range of demographics as this country is home to".

Submissions are invited in the following six categories:

Call for nominations, Allianz Business to Arts Awards – deadline 8 May 2017

The Allianz Business to Arts Awards champion collaboration between businesses, artists and arts organisations. They recognise creative partnerships that bring the arts and artists into mutually beneficial relationships across society. 

Prison choir wins national Advancing Healthcare Award

The Voice of Release choir was founded in 2014 by occupational therapists at Hydebank Wood women’s prison in south Belfast, and is jointly run with The Right Key, a Lisburn-based community interest company. The choir won both the mental health category of the Advancing Healthcare awards, and the overall prize.

The NetPark Wellbeing Project, an arts therapy scheme developed by the Metal Arts Organisation and Southend council, using digital technology in the setting of a public park, was highly commended in the same category.

Nominations open for the Janey Antoniou award – deadline 18 September 2017

The Rethink Mental Illness award is open to all mental health campaigners with lived experience within the UK, and celebrates extraordinary achievement in fighting stigma and discrimination and bringing about change. 

Read more

RSPH Health and Wellbeing Awards – deadline 28 April 2017

The awards recognise a wide range of activities, policies and strategies that empower communities and individuals, improve the population’s health, and address the wider social determinants of health. The RSH Arts and Health award is included in this group.

Read more

RSPH Arts and Health award - deadline 28 April 2017

The Arts and Health award is one of the six categories of the Royal Society for Public Health's annual Health and Wellbeing Awards. The Awards recognise a wide range of activities, policies and strategies that empower communities and individuals, improve the population’s health and address the wider social determinants of health.

Entered projects and programmes should demonstrate:

  • High quality creative arts and music provision that addresses significant health and wellbeing issues affecting individuals, families and the wider community

GSK Impact Award-winners announced

The winners of the 20th King's Fund/GSK Impact Awards have been announced. The ten charities across the UK provide a huge range of community services, from support for unpaid carers to help for people affected by adoption. The charities won from amongst 400 submissions, and will each receive £30,000, as well as free training and leadership development.

The winners of this year's anniversary awards were:

Basis Yorkshire – supporting female sex workers in Leeds and young people being sexually exploited or at risk 

New arts awards launched to support local councils

The shortlist is now available for the Hearts for the Arts prize, developed by the National Campaign for the Arts and What Next? to celebrate councils and councillors who are overcoming economic challenges to keep the arts at the centre of their communities.

Nominations were received for awards in four categories: Best Local Authority Arts Initiative, Best Local Authority Arts Champion – Councillor, Best Local Authority Arts Champion – Officer, and Best Local Authority Arts Project encouraging community cohesion.

Awards available for arts therapies

The 2017 Advancing Healthcare Awards has introduced a category for innovation in mental health services which aims to recognise the work of music, art and dramatherapists.

The awards are now in their 11th year and support the work of Allied Health Professionals and Health Researchers from the UK. The deadline for entries is 13 January 2017.

RSPH arts and health award

Ground-breaking projects have evaluated the impacts of group drumming for the wellbeing of people affected by mental health issues, the value of community singing for people affected by cancer, and musical activities in addressing post-natal depression and the role of music and arts in dementia care.

Running since 2010, its ambitious programme of work has rigorously explored how active engagement with the arts can support and enhance mental and physical health in community and NHS settings.


Subscribe to RSS - Awards