Nominate for the Heart for the Arts award – deadline 2 November 2018

Nominations are open for the National Campaign for the Arts 2018-19 Heart for the Arts awards. The awards celebrate local authority projects and people who champion the arts in their area.

Read more


Health Humanities Medal

A new national award celebrating the contribution of the arts and humanities to improving healthcare, health and wellbeing has been launched by The Arts and Humanities Research Council, in association with the Wellcome Trust.

Focused on research in the field, The Health and Humanities Medal will assess contributions in five categories. For each category a shortlist of submissions will be drawn up and a winner will be selected. An overall winner will then be selected from the five category winners to receive the Health Humanities Medal for 2018.

Manchester social impact funds

Greater Manchester’s Combined Authority has allocated £7m over the next two years to arts organisations aiming to deliver cultural impact including a range of organisations working in health and wellbeing.

28 organisations are set to receive a share of £7 million investment over the next two years. The portfolio includes emerging arts and social impact organisations alongside established and large scale organisations.

Socially engaged culture

Arts Council England has awarded Battersea Arts Centre £360,000 to run a national network of interdisciplinary cultural organisations to co-create and disseminate knowledge on how to distribute world-class, socially-engaged, artistic projects.

The work will be focused away from London and led by producers who are committed to using arts and culture to drive social change. Battersea Arts Centre will develop practical, tested solutions, to enable a step-change in the wider arts sector and ensure excellent art is relevant to communities across the country.

RSPH award winners announced

This year's national public health awards included two for University College London and Canterbury Christ Church University for its Museums on Prescription programme, as well as a special award for actor Michael Sheen, for his work to empower deprived communities in south Wales to address health inequalities.

Read more

NCA Hearts for the Arts nominations – deadline 20 November 2017

The National Campaign for the Arts' new awards scheme, "Hearts for the Arts", now in its second year, recognises local authorities from across the UK who invest in high-quality arts initiatives.

Commonwealth Writers' Prizes – deadline 1 November 2017

Applications for the 2018 Commonwealth Short Story Prize, which aims to promote new voices, reward achievement, encourage wider readership and greater literacy, and increase understanding between cultures. The Short Story Prize is awarded for the best piece of unpublished short fiction (2,000-5,000 words).

GSK Impact Awards – deadline 22 September 2017

The GSK IMPACT Awards are open for charities working in the health sector.

They are funded by GSK and managed in partnership with The King's Fund. The awards are open to registered charities that are at least three years old, working in a health-related field in the UK, with a total annual income of between £80,000 and £2.5 million. Up to 20 awards will be made, ranging from £3,000 up to £40,000

New national body for culture, health and wellbeing

Following the announcement of the Arts Council’s National Portfolio Organisations, we are pleased to announce that The National Alliance for Museums, Health and Wellbeing will be merging with the National Alliance for Arts, Health and Wellbeing to become a new Sector Support Organisation - the Culture, Health and Wellbeing Alliance (CHWA). Funded by Arts Council England as part of the National Portfolio Fund 2018-2022, the new organisation will be led by Arts and Health South West.

NPO Funding

We were pleased to hear that we would remain a part of Arts Council England’s National Portfolio of Organisations as announced recently. The news means that LAHF’s core activity (including this newsletter!) will continue until 2022.


Subscribe to RSS - Awards