Health Humanities Medal

A new national award celebrating the contribution of the arts and humanities to improving healthcare, health and wellbeing has been launched by The Arts and Humanities Research Council, in association with the Wellcome Trust.

Focused on research in the field, The Health and Humanities Medal will assess contributions in five categories. For each category a shortlist of submissions will be drawn up and a winner will be selected. An overall winner will then be selected from the five category winners to receive the Health Humanities Medal for 2018.

The categories for 2018 are:

  • Best Research
  • Best Doctoral or Early Career Research
  • Best International Research
  • Inspiration Award
  • Leadership Award

Eligible submissions will be judged by academics, health practitioners and industry professionals who will be looking for the very best examples under each category.

Professor Paul Crawford, at the University of Nottingham, who has led the development of this new award, comments: "The arts and humanities are major forces in keeping people well, connecting them socially and restoring them to good health. Whether it’s music, visual arts, comedy, theatre, storytelling, reading groups, or any of the many other creative practices going on every day, the arts and humanities are like a shadow health service that works quietly and powerfully to transform lives and aid recovery."